Nomination Period Opens for 2021 MP Corrosion Innovation Awards

Past winners of the Corrosion Innovation of the Year Awards.

As of June 1, 2020, Materials Performance (MP) magazine began accepting nominations for its 2021 Corrosion Innovation of the Year Awards. The nomination period continues until Sept. 30, 2020.

Successful innovations should show the potential for a significant positive impact in corrosion control. Innovations may be related to coatings and linings, materials, design, equipment, testing, monitoring, modeling/risk assessment, cathodic protection, or chemical treatment—anything that directly relates to corrosion prevention and mitigation.

Award nominations will be accepted from individuals, companies, organizations, and government agencies worldwide. There is no fee to submit a nomination.

Nomination Process

The nomination form asks for a full description of each innovation, including the need for the innovation; the process used for developing and implementing the innovation; an evaluation of the results; and criteria used to determine its success. To be nominated, the innovation must have been in some sort of development phase on or after January 1, 2016.

Each nomination will be rated by a panel of leading corrosion experts using a numerical scoring system. The highest-rated innovations will receive the awards.

As they are received and vetted, nominations will be posted on the MP awards web site. Details on the award program, including the nomination guidelines and submission form, can be found at

Each innovation selected for an award will be honored at an award presentation during NACE International’s CORROSION 2021 Conference and Exhibition in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA. All top innovations will also be highlighted in MP.

Recent Awards History

In 2019, which was the most recent awards cycle, the global corrosion control community submitted more than 50 nominations for the program — setting an all-time record. Of those nominations, 10 were ultimately selected as winners and honored at CORROSION 2019.

Those 10 winners were:

• “Adjustable Atmospheric Corrosion Test Rack” — Raghu Srinivasan, Breton Henry, Ezra Adams, Jarek Halat, Jasper Jackson, Aaliq Rowland; University of Alaska Anchorage

• “Connectionless Electrical Pulse Response Analysis (CEPRA) Method” — Andrew Fahim, Pouria Ghods, Aali Alizadeh, Sarah Decarufel, Mustafa Salehi; Giatec Scientific Inc.

• “FeCrAl Accident Tolerant Fuel Cladding” — Kevin G. Field, Yukinori Yamamoto, Kurt A. Terrani, Bruce Pint, Raul Rebak, Russ Fawcett; Oak Ridge National Laboratory, GE Global Research, Global Nuclear Fuel—Americas

• “FlexGel–Corrosion Mitigating Thixotropic Gel” — Kirk Francis, Stewart Duthie; Flexlife

• “Hexcorder Pro CIPS/DCVG/GPS Survey Instrument” — Elizabeth Nicholson, Pat Yaremko, Matt Bechberger, Peter Nicholson; Cathodic Technology Ltd.

• “Nano-Clear Industrial Coating Solutions” — Tilo Kunz, Thomas Choate; Assero Industrial Coatings, Nanovere Technologies, LLC

• “Perforated Offshore Monopile for Corrosion Control” — Monica M. Maher, Geoffrey Swain; Center for Corrosion and Biofouling Control, Florida Institute of Technology

• “Pocket-Sized GPS CP Interrupter” — Bill Mott, Charlie Petrie; Taku Engineering, LLC


• “Self-Healing Additives for Corrosion Resistance” — Gerald O. Wilson, A.G. Navarro, Subramanyam Kasisomayajula, Christopher R. D. Dayton, H. Magnus Andersson, Gordon Fischer; Autonomic Materials, Inc.

Besides honoring the new class of 2021 winners with trophies at the live, in-person CORROSION 2021 ceremony, those honorees from the previous class (2019) will be given opportunities to speak about their winning innovation at the conference. Detailed information about each of the 2019 winners can be read at the awards web site, where nomination forms and materials for the upcoming 2021 class are also available.

Source: MP Innovation of the Year Awards,

Related Articles